Photos by Rod Henderson/

By Tommy Goudge

BRIGHTON, Ont. (September 4, 2021) – DJ Christie became the second driver to claim multiple Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series wins with a victory on night one of the Labour Day Classic at Brighton Speedway.

Ryan Turner and Christie started the 25 lap A-Main on the front row, and Turner got the early lead. Action heated up all through the field in what turned out to be a nonstop race completed in less than seven minutes. Christie got the lead on lap 11 and stayed up front for his second win of the season. Turner continued his consistent season by taking the runner-up spot.

Jim Huppunen and Jordan Poirier continued their season-long contest as both moved up from row four and five to race for the third spot late in the race. Huppunen took the spot back from Poirier and claimed the final podium position, followed by Poirier, and Liam Martin.

Row six starter Cory Turner took the sixth spot, followed by Travis Cunningham, row nine starter Tyler Rand, Josh Hansen, and Dale Gosselin. Mack DeMan, Cunningham, and Ryan Turner claimed heat race wins.

Several drivers were unable to make the trip to Brighton due to last-minute complications. Most notable in his absence was Aaron Turkey, who gave up fourth place in the championship standings.

The Pinty’s Knights of Thunder series will next be in action on Sunday, September 5 at Brighton Speedway. Visit and for more information.

Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Saturday, September 4, 2021
Brighton Speedway
Brighton, Ontario, Canada

0 Glenn Styres – Ohsweken, Ontario
0FM Steve Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
1 Holly Porter – Dorchester, Ontario
3G Dale Gosselin – Saint-Pie, Quebec
5 DJ Christie – Beachville, Ontario
5D Ben Silliker – Grande Prairie, Alberta
9 Liam Martin – Binbrook, Ontario
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
11J Chris Jones – Picton, Ontario
13 Cory Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
14H Jim Huppunen – Fenwick, Ontario
15 Dan Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
17X Mack DeMan – Mississauga, Ontario
19 Brandon Murrell – Gores Landing, Ontario
28 Jordan Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
70 Baily Heard – Niagara Falls, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
87X Shone Evans – Scotland, Ontario
88 Alain Bergeron – Saint-Pie, Quebec
88H Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ontario
90 Travis Cunningham – Grimsby, Ontario
91 Ryan Turner – Dunnville, Ontario
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps
1. 17X-Mack DeMan[2]; 2. 3G-Dale Gosselin[1]; 3. 11J-Chris Jones[4]; 4. 1-Holly Porter[3]; 5. 88H-Josh Hansen[6]; 6. 88-Alain Bergeron[7]; 7. 19-Brandon Murrell[8]; 8. 87X-Shone Evans[5]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps
1. 91-Ryan Turner[2]; 2. 14H-Jim Huppunen[1]; 3. 11-Jamie Turner[5]; 4. 9-Liam Martin[7]; 5. 5D-Ben Silliker[3]; 6. 0-Glenn Styres[8]; 7. 98-Paul Pekkonen[4]; 8. (DNF) 0FM-Steve Poirier[6]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps
1. 90-Travis Cunningham[1]; 2. 5-DJ Christie[4]; 3. 13-Cory Turner[2]; 4. 28-Jordan Poirier[6]; 5. 84-Tyler Rand[3]; 6. 15-Dan Nanticoke[5]; 7. 70-Baily Heard[7]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – 6:46.193
1. 5-DJ Christie[2]; 2. 91-Ryan Turner[1]; 3. 14H-Jim Huppunen[7]; 4. 28-Jordan Poirier[10]; 5. 9-Liam Martin[5]; 6. 13-Cory Turner[11]; 7. 90-Travis Cunningham[8]; 8. 84-Tyler Rand[17]; 9. 88H-Josh Hansen[13]; 10. 3G-Dale Gosselin[6]; 11. 11J-Chris Jones[9]; 12. 1-Holly Porter[12]; 13. 88-Alain Bergeron[15]; 14. 11-Jamie Turner[4]; 15. 0FM-Steve Poirier[22]; 16. 5D-Ben Silliker[16]; 17. 17X-Mack DeMan[3]; 18. 19-Brandon Murrell[19]; 19. 0-Glenn Styres[14]; 20. 70-Baily Heard[20]; 21. 15-Dan Nanticoke[18]; 22. 87X-Shone Evans[23]; 23. 98-Paul Pekkonen[21]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Ryan Turner 1-10; DJ Christie 11-25
Margin of Victory – 1.624 seconds
Hard Charger – Tyler Rand +9

Up Next:
Sunday, September 5, 2021 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ontario

Twitter: @KoTSprints
Facebook: KnightsofThunderSprintCars
Instagram: @knightsofthunder
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series: Founded in 2021, the Knights of Thunder series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. Each points-paying event on the 2021 schedule will pay a minimum of $2,000-to-win and $250-to-start, and selected events will be broadcast live on GForceTV. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Corr/Pak Merchandising, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Hoosier Tire Canada, Burger Barn, Nitro 54 Variety, Strickland’s Brantford Chevrolet, and EPIC Racewear. Visit for more information.