Photos by Rod Henderson/

By Tommy Goudge

BRIGHTON, Ont. (August 21, 2021) – Jim Huppunen took his first Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series win on Saturday night, and the victory was also his first start at the Brighton Speedway.

Huppunen started on the pole and led the entire race with Ryan Turner close behind and sometimes side-by-side. Several incidents slowed the 25 lap A-Main, and four drivers were unable to finish; the most serious of the incidents came when Paul Pekkonen’s car ended up on its side exiting turn four.

Josh Hansen, KoT points leader Jordan Poirier, and DJ Christie also ran into trouble at different times, but recovered to finish third, fifth, and seventh respectively. Huppunen’s margin of victory over Turner was just 0.102 seconds, while Aaron Turkey moved up from 11th on the grid to finish fourth. Heat race wins were claimed by Tyler Rand and Travis Cunningham.

The Pinty’s Knights of Thunder series will next be in action on Saturday, September 4 and Sunday, September 5 at Brighton Speedway. Visit and for more information.

Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Saturday, August 21, 2021
Brighton Speedway
Brighton, Ontario, Canada

1 Holly Porter – Dorchester, Ontario
5 DJ Christie – Beachville, Ontario
9 Liam Martin – Binbrook Ontario
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
13 Nathan Jackson – Dunnville, Ontario
14H Jim Huppunen – Fenwick, Ontario
15 Dan Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
28 Jordan Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
46 Kevin Pauls – St. Catharines, Ontario
68 Aaron Turkey – Ohsweken, Ontario
70 Baily Heard – Niagara Falls, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
88H Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ontario
90 Travis Cunningham – Grimsby, Ontario
91 Ryan Turner – Dunnville, Ontario
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps
1. 84-Tyler Rand[1]; 2. 14H-Jim Huppunen[4]; 3. 11-Jamie Turner[3]; 4. 91-Ryan Turner[6]; 5. 68-Aaron Turkey[5]; 6. 1-Holly Porter[8]; 7. 98-Paul Pekkonen[7]; 8. 70-Baily Heard[2]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps
1. 90-Travis Cunningham[1]; 2. 5-DJ Christie[3]; 3. 28-Jordan Poirier[5]; 4. 88H-Josh Hansen[6]; 5. 9-Liam Martin[7]; 6. 15-Dan Nanticoke[4]; 7. 46-Kevin Pauls[2]; 8. 13-Nathan Jackson[8]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps
1. 14H-Jim Huppunen[1]; 2. 91-Ryan Turner[4]; 3. 88H-Josh Hansen[3]; 4. 68-Aaron Turkey[11]; 5. 28-Jordan Poirier[6]; 6. 1-Holly Porter[10]; 7. 5-DJ Christie[2]; 8. 70-Baily Heard[15]; 9. 15-Dan Nanticoke[12]; 10. 46-Kevin Pauls[14]; 11. 13-Nathan Jackson[16]; 12. (DNF) 9-Liam Martin[9]; 13. (DNF) 98-Paul Pekkonen[13]; 14. (DNF) 90-Travis Cunningham[7]; 15. (DNF) 11-Jamie Turner[8]; 16. (DNS) 84-Tyler Rand
A-Main Lap Leaders – Jim Huppunen 1-25
Margin of Victory – 0.102 seconds
Hard Charger – Aaron Turkey +7

Up Next:
Saturday, September 4, 2021 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ontario
Sunday, September 5, 2021 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ontario

Twitter: @KoTSprints
Facebook: KnightsofThunderSprintCars
Instagram: @knightsofthunder
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series: Founded in 2021, the Knights of Thunder series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. Each points-paying event on the 2021 schedule will pay a minimum of $2,000-to-win and $250-to-start, and selected events will be broadcast live on GForceTV. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Corr/Pak Merchandising, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Hoosier Tire Canada, Burger Barn, Nitro 54 Variety, Strickland’s Brantford Chevrolet, and EPIC Racewear. Visit for more information.