Jordan Poirier Scores Operation Green Flag Wins at Merrittville

By Merrittville Speedway PR

THOROLD, ONTARIO (September 18, 2020) … Jordan Poirier from St. Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec picked up the win in the 360 Sprint Cars at Merrittville Speedway on Friday night. For Poirier, it is win number two of the season at the Thorold, Ontario speedplant.

Holly Porter and Jordan Poirier brought the field of 360 Sprint Cars to the green flag for their 25-lap A-Main with Poirier taking the lead as Mitch Brown moved into second after passing Porter on lap two. Chris Jones landed on his side on the backstretch to bring out the red flag on lap three. Jones climbed out on his own power. Poirier would take off on the restart with Mitch Brown, Ryan Turner, Holly Porter, and Liam Martin raced in the top five. Shone Evans went around in turn two to bring out the caution on lap eight. Poirier would once again take off on the restart as Liam Martin battled hard with Cory Turner for the fourth position. Josh Hansen, Jake Brown, and Jamie Turner all got together in turn two on lap 10 to bring out the caution. Ryan Turner was able to take over second on the restart and would go after Poirier. Liam Martin would race his way back to the podium as Poirier continued to lead over Ryan Turner. Mitch Brown was able to regain the third spot just one lap later. Poirier would hit lap traffic, allowing Ryan Turner to close in. Turner would take the lead, but Poirier would regain the lead just one corner later. Poirier would go on to score the win.

Marketing Partners of Operation Green Flag: Mission Merrittville includes Nitro 54 Variety, Burger Barn, Ohsweken Speedway Racesource, and Corr/Pak Merchandising.


360 Sprint Cars: JORDAN POIRIER, Ryan Turner, Mitch Brown, Cory Turner, Liam Martin, Jim Huppunen, Travis Cunningham, Chris Steele, Aaron Turkey, Shawn Sliter, Shone Evans, Holly Porter, Josh Hansen, Jake Brown, Dave McKnight Jr, Steve Lyons, Brandon Murrell, Jamie Turner, Glenn Styres, Chris Jones, Allen Gilleta, Scott Burk

Qualifying Heats: Liam Martin, Ryan Turner, Jordan Poirier