Photos by Dale Calnan/ImageFactor Media

By Tommy Goudge

THOROLD, Ont. (August 6, 2021) – Jordan Poirier kept his Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series winning streak intact on Friday night at Merrittville Speedway. The Quebec driver had to work hard to secure the win as local favourite Jim Huppunen was going after his first win of the season.

Jim Huppunen and Holly Porter started the 25 lap A-Main on the front row, and Huppunen drove out to an early lead. Jordan Poirier quickly moved up from his fourth place starting position to give chase to Huppunen and took the lead on lap four. Huppunen did not let Poirier get too far ahead though, and began to gain on the leader as the two drivers worked through traffic.

Huppunen squeezed back past Poirier as the race reached the two-thirds distance, and the two drivers jousted for the win until Huppunen got too far sideways and slid to a stop in turn two. Another yellow flag came out shortly thereafter for a collision which collected Cory Turner and Shone Evans. Poirier stayed up front through the restarts to claim his fourth consecutive victory.

Aaron Turkey made a late charge to finish second, followed by Ryan Turner, row eight starter Liam Martin, and Jamie Turner. The top ten was rounded out with Porter, DJ Christie, Baily Heard, Josh Hansen, and Jim Huppunen. Heat race wins were claimed by Huppunen, Christie, and Ryan Turner.

The Pinty’s Knights of Thunder series will next be in action on Saturday, August 7 at Southern Ontario Motor Speedway. Visit www.knightsofthunder.com and www.southernontariomotorspeedway.com for more information.

Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Friday, August 6, 2021
Merrittville Speedway
Thorold, Ontario, Canada

01 Mikey Kruchka – Hamilton, Ontario
1 Holly Porter – Dorchester, Ontario
5 DJ Christie – Beachville, Ontario
9 Liam Martin – Binbrook Ontario
9B Scott Burk – Charing Cross, Ontario
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
13 Cory Turner – Tillsonburg, Ontario
14H Jim Huppunen – Fenwick, Ontario
15 Dan Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
28 Jordan Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
46 Kevin Pauls – St. Catharines, Ontario
68 Aaron Turkey – Ohsweken, Ontario
70 Baily Heard – Niagara Falls, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
87X Shone Evans – Scotland, Ontario
88H Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ontario
90 Travis Cunningham – Grimsby, Ontario
91 Ryan Turner – Dunnville, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – 1:51.000
1. 14H-Jim Huppunen[1]; 2. 68-Aaron Turkey[2]; 3. 28-Jordan Poirier[4]; 4. 13-Cory Turner[5]; 5. 90-Travis Cunningham[6]; 6. 84-Tyler Rand[3]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – 1:57.779
1. 5-DJ Christie[1]; 2. 1-Holly Porter[5]; 3. 15-Dan Nanticoke[2]; 4. 87X-Shone Evans[6]; 5. 46-Kevin Pauls[3]; 6. 9B-Scott Burk[4]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – 1:57.353
1. 91-Ryan Turner[2]; 2. 88H-Josh Hansen[4]; 3. 11-Jamie Turner[5]; 4. 70-Baily Heard[6]; 5. (DNF) 9-Liam Martin[1]; 6. (DNF) 01-Mikey Kruchka[3]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 28-Jordan Poirier[4]; 2. 68-Aaron Turkey[5]; 3. 91-Ryan Turner[6]; 4. 9-Liam Martin[15]; 5. 11-Jamie Turner[3]; 6. 1-Holly Porter[2]; 7. 5-DJ Christie[8]; 8. 70-Baily Heard[10]; 9. 88H-Josh Hansen[7]; 10. 14H-Jim Huppunen[1]; 11. 90-Travis Cunningham[13]; 12. 84-Tyler Rand[17]; 13. 15-Dan Nanticoke[11]; 14. 9B-Scott Burk[16]; 15. (DNF) 13-Cory Turner[12]; 16. (DNF) 87X-Shone Evans[9]; (DNF) 17. 46-Kevin Pauls[14]; 18. (DNS) 01-Mikey Kruchka
A-Main Lap Leaders – Jim Huppunen 1-3, 19-20; Jordan Poirier 4-18, 21-25
Margin of Victory – 3.196 seconds
Hard Charger – Liam Martin +11

Up Next:
Saturday, August 7, 2021 – Southern Ontario Motor Speedway – Merlin, Ontario

Website: www.knightsofthunder.com
Twitter: @KoTSprints
Facebook: KnightsofThunderSprintCars
Instagram: @knightsofthunder
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series: Founded in 2021, the Knights of Thunder series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. Each points-paying event on the 2021 schedule will pay a minimum of $2,000-to-win and $250-to-start, and selected events will be broadcast live on GForceTV. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Corr/Pak Merchandising, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Hoosier Tire Canada, Burger Barn, Nitro 54 Variety, Strickland’s Brantford Chevrolet, and EPIC Racewear. Visit www.knightsofthunder.com for more information.