Photos by Dale Calnan/ImageFactor Media

By Tommy Goudge

PORT COLBORNE, Ont. (July 30, 2021) – Jordan Poirier is now two-for-two in Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car competition in 2021 following a win on Friday night at Humberstone Speedway.

Cory Turner and Travis Cunningham made up the front row for the 25 lap feature, and Turner took the early lead with Poirier close behind. Turner was about to encounter traffic when Corey Gruhl’s stopped car brought out a yellow flag with five laps complete. Turner stayed in the lead when the green flag reappeared, but had to move out of the low groove in traffic. Poirier pounced on the opportunity and made a daring move through traffic to make the winning move just before the race reached the halfway point.

Turner gained ground on Poirier on several occasions, but ended up settling for the runner-up spot. Cunningham took the third podium spot, followed by row six starter Jacob Dykstra, and Ryan Turner. Tyler Rand, Shone Evans, Jim Huppunen, Josh Hansen, and Mat Williamson rounded out the top ten. A star in Big Block Modified racing, Williamson was making his first 360 Sprint Car start. Heat race wins were claimed by Holly Porter, Cory Turner, and Shone Evans.

The Knights of Thunder series will next be in action on Saturday, July 31 at Humberstone Speedway. Visit www.knightsofthunder.com and www.humberstonespeedway.com for more information.

Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Friday, July 30, 2021
Humberstone Speedway
Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

0 Mat Williamson – St. Catharines, Ontario
01 Mikey Kruchka – Hamilton, Ontario
1 Holly Porter – Dorchester, Ontario
3G Dale Gosselin – Saint-Pie, Quebec
5 DJ Christie – Beachville, Ontario
5D Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ontario
9 Liam Martin – Binbrook Ontario
9B Scott Burk – Charing Cross, Ontario
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
11J Chris Jones – Picton, Ontario
13 Cory Turner – Tillsonburg, Ontario
14H Jim Huppunen – Fenwick, Ontario
15 Dan Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
28 Jordan Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
35C Corey Gruhl – St. Catharines, Ontario
46 Kevin Pauls – St. Catharines, Ontario
68 Aaron Turkey – Ohsweken, Ontario
70 Baily Heard – Niagara Falls, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
87X Shone Evans – Scotland, Ontario
88H Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ontario
90 Travis Cunningham – Grimsby, Ontario
91 Ryan Turner – Dunnville, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – NT
1. 1-Holly Porter[1]; 2. 90-Travis Cunningham[2]; 3. 91-Ryan Turner[5]; 4. 84-Tyler Rand[7]; 5. 3G-Dale Gosselin[8]; 6. 15-Dan Nanticoke[6]; 7. 70-Baily Heard[3]; 8. 9B-Scott Burk[4]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – 2:04.037
1. 13-Cory Turner[2]; 2. 01-Mikey Kruchka[1]; 3. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[3]; 4. 88H-Josh Hansen[4]; 5. 0-Mat Williamson[7]; 6. 5-DJ Christie[5]; 7. 68-Aaron Turkey[6]; 8. 35C-Corey Gruhl[8]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – 2:04.178
1. 87X-Shone Evans[2]; 2. 28-Jordan Poirier[3]; 3. 11-Jamie Turner[4]; 4. 14H-Jim Huppunen[5]; 5. 9-Liam Martin[7]; 6. 11J-Chris Jones[6]; 7. 46-Kevin Pauls[1]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 28-Jordan Poirier[3]; 2. 13-Cory Turner[1]; 3. 90-Travis Cunningham[2]; 4. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[11]; 5. 91-Ryan Turner[8]; 6. 84-Tyler Rand[5]; 7. 87X-Shone Evans[7]; 8. 14H-Jim Huppunen[12]; 9. 88H-Josh Hansen[15]; 10. 0-Mat Williamson[13]; 11. 3G-Dale Gosselin[10]; 12. 68-Aaron Turkey[19]; 13. 11-Jamie Turner[9]; 14. 01-Mikey Kruchka[4]; 15. 1-Holly Porter[6]; 16. 9-Liam Martin[14]; 17. 11J-Chris Jones[17]; 18. 5-DJ Christie[18]; 19. 70-Baily Heard[20]; 20. 9B-Scott Burk[22]; 21. 15-Dan Nanticoke[16]; 22. 46-Kevin Pauls[21]; 23. (DNF) 35C-Corey Gruhl[23]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Cory Turner 1-12; Jordan Poirier 13-25
Margin of Victory – 4.226 seconds
Hard Charger – Jacob Dykstra +7

Up Next:
Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ontario – Saturday, July 31, 2021

Website: www.knightsofthunder.com
Twitter: @KoTSprints
Facebook: KnightsofThunderSprintCars
Instagram: @knightsofthunder
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series: Founded in 2021, the Knights of Thunder series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. Each points-paying event on the 2021 schedule will pay a minimum of $2,000-to-win and $250-to-start, and selected events will be broadcast live on GForceTV. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Corr/Pak Merchandising, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Hoosier Tire Canada, Burger Barn, Nitro 54 Variety, Strickland’s Brantford Chevrolet, and EPIC Racewear. Visit www.knightsofthunder.com for more information.