Steele Saturday Night Winner at Merrittville

By: Jonathon Howe

THOROLD, ONTARIO (September 19, 2020) … “The Real Deal” Chris Steele from St. Catharines, Ontario won the A-Main in the 360 Sprint Cars at the Merrittville Speedway Saturday night.

The 360 Sprints saw action at Merrittville Speedway for the 2nd night in a row. Tonight’s feature started with Chris Steele from St. Catharine’s, Ontario on pole with Brantford, Ontario’s Mitch Brown on the outside of the front row. Steele would control much of the race, lapping almost half the field. However, Steele would face a challenge late from Jim Huppunen. As the two sliced and diced through lap traffic, it came down to the last corner where Huppunen made a bold move on the outside to pull alongside Steele in turns three and four. Off turn four, Steele used the bottom lane to clear Huppunen and take the checkers. Mitch Brown, Cory Turner, and Ryan Turner would complete the top five finishers respectively.


360 Sprint Cars: CHRIS STEELE, Jim Huppunen, Mitch Brown, Cory Turner, Ryan Turner, Travis Cunningham, Jordan Poirier, Jake Dykstra, Jake Brown, Jamie Turner, Shawn Sliter, Josh Hansen, Shone Evans, Aaron Turkey, Holly Porter, Glenn Styres, Dave McKnight Jr, Liam Martin, Allan Downey, Allen Giletta, Steve Lyons, Scott Burk, Chris Jones

Qualifying Heats: Mitch Brown, Jim Huppunen, Jacob Dykstra