Turkey Collects Checkered Flag at Merrittville

September 12, 2020 – Ohsweken, Ontario’s Aaron Turkey scored the win as the 360 Sprint Cars returned to Merrittville Speedway on Saturday, September 12th. James Michael Friesen from St. Catharines, Ontario scored the victory in the Rick’s Delivery DIRTcar Sportsman. Multi-time Hoosier Stock track champion Dave Bailey from Hagersville, Ontario won the Hoosier Stock main event. Past divisional champion Jeffrey May from Mt. Hope, Ontario scored the victory in the RONA/Doidge Building Centre Mod Lite feature event. Jordan Fidler from Port Colborne, Ontario picked up another victory in the James’ Auto V6 division.

During hot laps for the 360 Sprint Cars, Liam Martin shattered the track record previously set by Dylan Westbrook. Martin ran around the Thorold, Ontario facility in a time of 13.020 seconds. The previous record was 13.158 seconds.


Heat Race #1:
1. 0-Glenn Styres
2. 1-Holly Porter
3. 110-Jake Brown
4. 9B-Scott Burk
5. 98-Paul Pekkonen
6. 46-Kevin Pauls
7. 87X-Shone Evans

Heat Race #2:
1. 28-Jordan Poirier
2. 90-Travis Cunningham
3. 11-Jamie Turner
4. 10B-Mitch Brown
5. 14H-Jim Huppunen
6. 15-Liam Martin
7. 21-John Burbridge
8. 88H-Josh Hansen

Heat Race #3:
1. 91-Ryan Turner
2. 13-Cory Turner
3. 80-Chris Steele
4. 68-Aaron Turkey
5. 70MM-Dave McKnight
6. 10J-Jeremy Hughes
7. 67-Jacob Dykstra

1. 68-Aaron Turkey
2. 13-Cory Turner
3. 91-Ryan Turner
4. 28-Jordan Poirier
5. 80-Chris Steele
6. 90-Travis Cunningham
7. 14H-Jim Huppunen
8. 110-Jake Brown
9. 15-Liam Martin
10. 10B-Mitch Brown
11. 11-Jamie Turner
12. 0-Glenn Styres
13. 1-Holly Porter
14. 9B-Scott Burk
15. 98-Paul Pekkonen
16. 46-Kevin Pauls
17. 70MM-Dave McKnight
18. 22JR-Allen Gilleta
19. 67-Jacob Dykstra
20. 10J-Jeremy Hughes
21. 21-John Burbridge
DNS: 88H-Josh Hansen
DNS: 87X-Shone Evans